Lake Stevens triathlon & Iron Girl 2010

My mom came over Friday night (9/10/10) after Yancy and I had already been up to Lake Stevens to pick up my race packet. We stayed up talking and then I had a hard time sleeping (maybe should have skipped the 3pm coffee). But we still got up around 5:30am on Saturday and drove to Lake Stevens (North-East of Evertt, WA). This was the first triathlon my mom got to watch me in. As usual, I really appreciated all of Yancy’s help getting me ready (from loading/unloading my bike to helping me get into my wetsuit). The race started around 8am and I was in the third wave. The water was COLD!!! It seriously felt colder than 65 degrees! I had a great swim; 0.9 miles in 29 minutes. Transition was a little slow because my feet were so cold. I was careful to warm up and do efficient shifting on the bike and ended having my best race bicycling experience yet. Finished 25 miles in 1 hour 33 minutes. My feet were still very cold and transitioning to the run was pretty difficult. I did the 10K in about an hour and 22 minutes with walking-jogging intervals. For this race I really focused on breathing a good nutrition/hydration. I was really ready to be done when I crossed the finish line at 3 hours 28 minutes but am soooo happy with that time! This was my third olympic distance triathlon. I finished the first in 3 hours 52 minutes (3/29/09) and the second (8/2/09) in something like 3 hours and 59 minutes… That means I took just over 23 minutes off of my best time!!! That’s a pretty significant improvement in a year and a half! Oh and here’s one more thing that made my day: I had been playing “leap-frog” with a girl out on the bike course until I finally left her in the dust. She caught up to me on the run and we chatted a bit. She said I was “a champ on the hills!” I can’t even say how good that makes me feel because the hills are my major nemesis! Yay for progress! Imagine where I’ll be next year!  🙂

After the race Mom, Yancy, and I went to the Maltby Cafe for an amazing breakfast (even though it was lunchtime). I was feeling sore and exhausted but hyper and excited… that’s an amusing combination. We went home and took a nap since we were all tired. Then we went with Mom on a major shopping spree and visit to Half Price Books. 🙂

Sunday morning we got up early again to head to Seattle for Iron Girl 2010. Yancy, being the best husband ever, drove Mom and I to Green Lake and dropped us off so he could go find parking. This is our FIFTH year of doing the event together. Iron Girl is an all women athletic series across the nation. In Seattle they have a 5K and 10K walk/run around Green Lake every September and really encourage mother-daughter teams. We did the 5K this year (because of my triathlon the previous day) and finished just shy of 45 minutes. It was a lot of fun. How lucky am I that I get to do running events with my mom? And there were so many other mother-daughter teams. I can’t believe how much the event has grown since 2006! Craziness!

We had lunch back in Redmond with our friends Donna & Enrico and their adorable 8 month daughter Lara. I learned that apparently all babies go through a stage of “stranger anxiety.” But Lara is just too cute and kept us entertained through lunch. Mom had to go home and Yancy and I spent the rest of the day lazing around the house. It was back to work on Monday after all. *sigh*

One more thought today: looking at pictures of my mom and I was a real eye opener. I have photos of us at the 2006 & 2008 races and compared to a photo taken this year, I look NOTHING like I did 2 years ago! Loosing 50 pounds and becoming a triathlete will do that to you. 😉   Here are a few pictures from this weekend:

Leave a Reply

