Mostly relaxing day

We got up TOO early for a Saturday! My friend Sarah invited us for lap swimming and an easy 6 mile run. Lap swimming at the YMCA was nice… except that it started at 7am.  😛  We were in the pool for nearly 55 minutes, of which I’m sure I swam a solid 45 minutes worth. I found myself getting a little tired from swimming but was still excited to strap on my garmin watch and heart rate monitor. It was crazy cold out! We had to be careful of certain icy spots on the roads & trails. Only 2 miles into our run I felt myself getting more tired and my heart rate getting a little too high so we cut back early and only did a total of 4. 8 miles. It still felt like a tough work out after not exercising all week. I’m so glad I have friends that push me! It felt good to get out there in the cold weather and do something good for myself after all the laziness.

The rest of the day was… well.. pretty much lazy.  😉  I spent quite a bit of time looking at triathlon magazines and weight loss stuff. I’m working on building up my “mental muscles” to join the weight loss fight. I’ve heard people say that endurance sports like marathons and triathlons are 20% physical and 80% mental. I believe it! I also think that loosing weight is mostly a mental battle. You have to overcome deep emotional hurdles when saying no to foods you crave. You have to find the motivation to exercise when there are so many other distractions, and to keep going when it gets hard. It’s a combination of daily choices that can be easy to procrastinate. You really have to WANT to succeed and stay FOCUSED in order to reach your goals.

I CAN DO IT!

p.s. The data that the new Garmin toy records is sooooo coooolll!!! It shows grafts of elevation changes and heart rate changes and pace changes. I love all the counting and visualization! I have a really good feeling about how this is going to change my running future.   😀

Leave a Reply

