Resolutions?

Well, there’s only one week left of 2010. Are you the type to make “New Year’s Resolutions” every year? I sometimes do, and rarely accomplish them. My wants seem greater than my motivation to actually work towards them. I WANT to be thin, but then life happens and I continue to eat unhealthily and skip exercise. I want to be more artistic, but then I end up doing something like watching a movie instead of practicing art. Quiro aprendar Espanol, or Italian, but spend a few minutes studying and then get distracted. I want to cook at home more often but then end up going out to eat when I’m tired after a hard 10 hour shift at work. I want to pay off debt, but conveniently “forget” about that when I see something I desire and happen to have room on the credit card…

How can I truly pursue my dreams? Can I really change who I am? How do I stay focused? It’s easy to write a list of things I want. It’s even easy to write the list of HOW to achieve my desires. But there’s so often a disconnect between the want and the doing. My goal for this coming year is to study this concept more and try to spend more time DOING what I can to get what I WANT. If you have any words of wisdom for me, please do share!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. IrisJean James
    Dec 24, 2010 @ 17:11:56

    I think the key is to set realistic goals. “In january I will cook at home 1 more time than I did last year.” Don’t make the goal so big you tend to ignore it.

    “In 6 months I want to pay down my debt by $600 extra.” That way you aren’t feeling overwhelmed OR setting yourself up to fail. Generally speaking the only way to succeed with goals is making them bite size. Kind of like losing weight. It isn’t “I want to be down 100 lbs by next year” it’s “I want to be eat 100 less calories a day next month”.

    It isn’t about changing YOU, it’s about changing behaviour that prevents you from being the best version of yourself. Think of it as improving yourself, or self rennovation. Not changing the core of who you are. The person you are is not fat, in debt, or undesiring of working out, the person you are is someone who wants those things for a reason. πŸ™‚

    Set manageable resolutions, and make them happen. Set out a month-to-month plan just like training for your marathons/triathalons etc, and execute. You have the ability and the will. πŸ™‚ I believe in you! πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

