It’s official

Ok, I made the big announcement today. I’m officially joining the Team in Training Nike Women’s Marathon team!!! Here’s the link for my fundraising page: http://pages.teamintraining.org/wa/nikesf11/aburns15jt I’m a little excited and scared about this. A full marathon has to be the hardest sport! At least in the triathlon I have other sports that I enjoy (mostly swimming), but a marathon is a long 26.2 miles of pounding the pavement. I really hate running too. But I feel that this is my biggest challenge, and once I conquer the marathon, I can do anything! I do dream of doing an Ironman in the near future, so a marathon this year makes sense. And I can’t imagine a better way to do my first one than with the Team. I’ll be making new friends, raising more money for charity, and learning from experienced athletes. This particular marathon also looks like a fantastic first race, designed as an inspirational race for women. The course has cool quotes along the way, and the finisher metal is a necklace from Tiffany & Co! 🙂

The season kick off for the marathon team is 4/28/11. I’ll miss most of the first two months of training because I’m still doing my Half Iron Triathlon (with Yancy). But I figure the triathlon (& the STP bike ride) will have me in good shape. Don’t worry, I’ll be taking some recovery time this summer to give my body some rest. And then I’ll probably take at least a month off of training during the winter. Wow, this is kind of a big deal. I’m going to pass physical boundaries that I’ve never approached before. And I know I can do it. I can do anything I set my mind to!

Leave a Reply

