Catch up

Last weekend I did 11.25 miles at marathon practice on Saturday and then a 10k race on Sunday with my friend Stephanie (who was filling in for my mom for the Irongirl race). That makes a 17.5 mile weekend. 🙂 I didn’t really train over the week… because I was lazy… no other excuse. I have to admit I’m really looking forward to getting this marathon behind me so I can just have a “normal” life. Training for a marathon can easily consume you. Yesterday was supposed to be my longest training run of the season: 4.5 HOURS. I called it quits after about 9.6 miles due to some weird pain above my left ankle. I think it’s some sort of strain. Unlike my IT band issue with my knee, this pain didn’t go away when I slowed down. Being only a month away from my marathon I don’t want to risk an injury. I’m going to try another long run on Tuesday morning and maybe go see the chiropractor this week.

After practice Yancy picked me up and we went straight home for showers and lunch before heading out to Grand Coulee, a four hour drive. We have two friends competing in the Ironman distance Grand Colombian Triathlon. We missed their swim and bikes, but got to see both Cat & Karin at the halfway point of their marathon and cheer them on again at the finish line. We actually spent about 6 hours hanging around the finish line, cheering in strangers and waiting for our friends. Yancy and I had a good time and I’ve come away feeling inspired. I’m looking forward to doing an iroman someday. It’s not going to be very soon though. After this marathon I’m going to take a little break from racing. I need to focus on my health. Getting better sleep, eating better, doing strength training and core work. Yancy and need to work more on our debt and reduce stress. When I train for my ironman, it’s going to take up all my free time so I need to get other things in order first.

Since we didn’t get to bed until after 2:30am this morning we decided to sleep in and didn’t even set an alarm. I woke up around 12:30pm… Can’t remember the last time I slept so late! And I’m still trying to find the motivation to do much (just have dishes and laundry to do).  😛   Looking forward to dinner tonight with friends.

Leave a Reply

