Lame

This week isn’t as fun as I’d hoped it’d be. This cold I have is especially nasty. Monday afternoon I did a job shadow in the physical therapy department. I was embarrassed from all my coughing, but still had a good time. I followed a different PTA with a very different style of patient interaction. Most of the patients were very pleasant and eager to be there getting help to recover from an injury or surgery. Some were just complainer types, but they need help too. I’m even more inspired to go for a PT career. I think it’s a good fit for me and would be personally rewarding.

Tuesday I worked at the ophthalmology clinic in Lynnwood. It was that doctor’s first day back from maternity leave. We saw 22 patients. That’s a lot for one tech. And some of them were pretty complicated. The doctor got well over an hour behind in the afternoon which made things even more stressful. Add in a miserable day of coughing and a stuffy/runny nose. After a 9+ hour day I was exhausted. Yancy had taken the car for the day, so when he picked me up I asked if we could go out for dinner. Red Robin happened… but at least I had a chicken burger instead of beef. Still I’m sure my meal was a full day’s worth of calories.

This morning I woke around 4am having a serious coughing attack. I didn’t sleep well all night and when my alarm clock went off I grudgingly got in the shower, but before I got out had decided to go back to bed. With regret I cancelled the job shadow for today. I was too tired to get much out of it. And the PTA probably would appreciate not being coughed on all morning (she’s pregnant btw). After coffee with Yancy and a banana I went back to bed until 10:30am! But I feel better and ready to go have a fun lunch date with my friend. That’s all I have planned for the rest of the day. I’m just going to take it easy for today and tomorrow and hope to be back to my normal self by the weekend so I can have fun while my mom is visiting.

Tonight’s dinner is going to be very interesting. So far I’m just planning to roast a bunch of yummy veggies (golden turnips, acorn squash, sweet potato, carrots…) and maybe serve with rice or some other side dish. I’ll probably post a picture.  😛

Leave a Reply

