Domestic diva!

I had a really fun day! Started it off by accidentally sleeping in. We snoozed the alarm clocks this morning and reset to a later time… which for some reason didn’t work. I eventually got Yancy off to work, made another pot of coffee, and got my housework done. I started beef stew in the crock pot, entirely made of ingredients I have in the house (including leftover beef brisket)! I went to Whole Foods for a few groceries and couldn’t believe how crowded it was! Lots of families with annoying kids. Dang! In the afternoon my friend Kris came over and taught me how to quilt. It had been several years since I’ve even pulled out the sewing machine so I had to learn how to use it all over again. I had a bunch of material left over from some long forgotten project and after showing these to Kris we put our heads together to come up with a plan. We decided to make a small pillow with three different colors. We sketched out a pattern and started cutting cloth. In a couple hours we’d made a cute little pillow (without stuffing). I don’t think I’ll finish it all the way, but I learned so much and am ready to take on a bigger project. The ultimate goal is to make a very artistic quilt for our bed based on one of my favorite pieces of art. But I need to practice with a few smaller things first. This was really fun and good experience. Picture below:

Leave a Reply

