Twisted day

Started the morning off with some bad news. A cousin took his own life last night. He had 5 young children. I’m really sad for the family, but hoping that he’s finally at peace, he’s had some struggles. It just has me thinking about how important it is to communicate with your loved ones. Tell them how much you love and appreciate them. Tell them how you feel. Forgive and forget. When you have a problem, ask for help. Live in the moment. Look to the future, not the past.

Yancy and I went to an 8am training session with Cathy. She promptly kicked our butts. We were both sweating like crazy before long and I worked certain muscle groups to the point of exhaustion. I love that shaky/sore feeling that you get after a hard session, you know you earned it. We went to Jamba Juice for post-workout breakfast. He worked from home and I worked at home… oh, the joy of housework. Laundry, dishes, vacuuming, dusting…. Housework is never really done is it?

I went out for a lovely lunch with my good friend Stephanie. The day was beautiful!!! We sat outside for lunch and chatted for over an hour. I came home and worked for some time on my quilt. I’m almost half way done with the border. I’ve already learned a very valuable lesson…. I need to be much more careful when cutting the cloth. Uneven squares results in mismatched seams. Of course, no one will really notice those but me. It’s actually a good practice of self efficacy. It’s OK to not be perfect. Little mistakes happen, and they show personality.  🙂

Tomorrow should be a really fun day. The only thing we have planned is a bike ride. I haven’t been on 2 wheels since July last year! I’ve been craving it again. I’ve even been considering signing up for a century bike ride in the summer. But I just have to take things one day at a time.  :O)

Dinner tonight was a fun experiment. I baked chicken (marinated in a “Jamaican” sauce) with mango, onion, and random seasonings (including lime). It turned out really good for having no idea what I was doing. I served it with steamed carrots/broccoli and some “brown rice couscous” with Mediterranean curry flavors. A healthy and tasty meal. And then some wine…

Leave a Reply

