Good morning

I made it to Friday! Just barely. I actually left work early yesterday because of my cold and went back to bed for several hours. I got up around 5:30pm to get Yancy from the bus stop and then we had dinner, leftovers from the Mediterranean Kitchen (lamb shank with veggies and cus cus). I spent more time in the kitchen cleaning out all the non-Paleo foods… which is most of it. I had the garbage can loaded up, a very full basket for the food bank, a bag of food to share with coworkers, and a very full bag of recyclables. The fridge and pantry are very bare now, but I’ll go to the grocery this afternoon and get REAL food to restock it. Part of me is trying to feel bad about all the waste (mostly just the money I spent on all that food), but the rest of me is really excited to commit to this new lifestyle. Getting rid of that food feels like a real “fork in the road” moment, it’s hard to describe, but it’s definite that life is changing today. Change can be exciting. The Burns house will no longer eat processed foods. No extra chemicals, salts, sugars, dairy products, legumes (includes peanut butter), grain products, or high fat foods. Can’t wait to see how it goes. I’m looking forward to playing with new recipes and learning how to cook with lots of flavor and color without adding unhealthy ingredients. This morning’s breakfast was an egg scrambled with red pepper, mushrooms, ginger, garlic, and black pepper. It tasted fantastic and was perfectly filling. We tried coconut milk in our coffee… not a big hit, I only drank about half of mine. The only can I had in the pantry was “light” and I’d like to try the regular coconut milk. If I still don’t like it, I’ll probably end up not drinking coffee.

Today I’m taking it pretty easy. I have a little housework and laundry to do. Then in the afternoon I have my first meeting with a counselor. We’re going to work on handling stress and fighting emotional eating… and whatever else she thinks I need to work on. I hope I make a good connection with her. This evening will be quiet. Maybe just watching a movie with Yancy after our Paleo dinner. Not sure what that will be yet, but I’ll certainly post about it tomorrow. And I’ll post pics of my gutted kitchen.  🙂

Leave a Reply

