Let me tell you about my Monday

I have to say, I’m really loving this reduced work schedule! This morning Yancy and I did a fasting blood draw for an “employee wellness” thing at work. We went out for breakfast which ended up being a disaster for me. We tried a new place in Bellevue: The Pancake Coral or something like that. Usually breakfast places will at the very least have some omelet options that are partially paleo. This place had NO vegetables, and no fruit unless on a waffle. I ended up ordering “corn-beef & hash” thinking it to be one of the lesser evils on the menu. I did not expect what came: a round patty of unidentifiable “meat” with the consistency of what I imagine cat food to be like with tiny little square chunks of what I assume was potato. I barely choked it down, ate the scrambled egg, and one slice of sourdough toast. I was a little nauseated when I left. Not because the food was bad, but psychologically the meal was torture. Now that I’m getting used to eating natural/whole foods, that way over-processed food was disgusting. I never plan to eat at that place again. I would so much rather spend 10 minutes at home cooking something that I know is healthy and fresh!

Ok, enough ranting about breakfast. 😛 After dropping Yancy off for work I went grocery shopping. 95% of my time was spent on one side of the store: produce and the butcher department. I have my menu planned out for the next 4 days and all the goods to make some fantastic meals.

My good friend Stephanie came over around the time I was working on a cup of homemade coffee. We visited for a while, then went to the Redmond Watershed for a “hike” in the drizzle. Because of the tall trees we stayed mostly dry and not too cold, but definitely got muddy. I didn’t see any wildlife, but we did almost get run over by some horses. Other than a few random trail runners and those 3 horses (& their riders), we had the place to ourselves. It was a very peaceful walk. My pedometer said we did at least 10,000 steps. Not sure the exact mileage, but it was somewhere between 4 and 5 miles. My calves were talking to me the whole time, and screaming on the downhill parts, but they actually feel a little better this evening.

We came back to my house and she helped me cook lunch: shrimp/pineapple skewers with steamed broccoli and a honey crisp apple. We’re a good culinary team, because it was a fantastic meal. We each had our fill for LESS than 500 calories each. Exercise with good company, a good meal, and a relaxing day. That’s what I’m talking about!! Life is good! 🙂

After Stephanie left I vegged out for a bit and chatted online with Yancy. I was doing some research about signing up for the bone marrow donor registration program. Apparently a person’s odds for finding a match within their own family is only 30% and with the general population it’s 1 in 20,000!! If you’re that 1 person, you could have the opportunity to save someone’s life with a simple procedure! Check out that link for info, it’s not as scarey as it sounds. The only thing that might prevent me from being on their registry is my history of back pain, but I think my issues are only related to muscle strength and posture so I’ll have to ask them about it. The program is supposed to have someone at the race we’re doing on 3/4/12. Yancy and I have raised lots of money for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, but this is another way to give. We actually have a friend who’s life was saved by a bone marrow transplant. If I’m eligible to be a donor and someone out there is my match and needs it, I’d be happy to help.

And then I took a NAP.  🙂 Yancy worked a little late so I started cooking dinner and let him walk home from the bus. I made turkey kabobs under the oven broiler. I did an extra skewer of tomatoes and one of mushrooms, then I threw some asparagus in half way through the cooking. It was a fantastic dinner, and under 400 calories (counting the apple we shared after dinner)! Wow, we really eat well in this house! :O)

The rest of the evening will be spent relaxing in the living room and hanging out with Yancy. I have some books I’m working through and he has games and other geeky things going on. I’ll try to get to bed at a decent hour because tomorrow it’s back to busy life. Three 10 hour days, and another busy weekend. But life is good, I’m feeling happy and in control of my future.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mom
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 11:11:18

    Sounds like a great day; you inspire me!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

