Monday again already?

This weekend was kind of weird. We felt very busy, but looking back it feels like we accomplished next to nothing. We shopped for beds for a majority of the day Saturday… more work than I realized it would be, and a difficult decision. We finally settled on a great sale at Sears. We saved enough to upgrade on a king size bed. Wooo hoo! Can’t wait for it to arrive (a week from today). We also picked out new pillows which is even harder than the bed. Apparently 20% of your alignment issues in bed are related to your pillow. It was trial and error (ended up with two) but I finally found a great pillow. Can’t wait to see if my sleep quality improves.

Saturday night we went to a fund-raiser hosted by a friend of ours, a whiskey/bourbon tasting. It was a lot of fun. Yancy tasted a LOT of bourbon! I had a little wine, but was pretty well behaved… until afterwards. We went out for dinner at 10pm. I had a mixed drink… and nachos. Oh, I’m so bad! Yancy also had another drink, but at least had a decent meal .

Sunday was spent driving ALL over Seattle. We’re considering moving to the other side of the lake this spring. We were checking out areas we’re interested in as well as looking at a few we saw on Craigslist. There was a condo near Alki Beach at a price we just couldn’t ignore… found out why, view is dominated by a shipping yard and the place was tiny. We have lots of time to choose though. Our lease is up at the end of April, and then goes month-to-month. We’ll see what happens.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚

Today we slept in a little and ended up having “breakfast” at Starbucks. I went to personal training with Cathy. Ugh. Some days you feel strong and energetic in the gym… today wasn’t one of those days, it was tough. Got through it and felt better after. I went to the pool next for a short lap swim. After swimming for about 15 minutes I decided to tread water for another 15 minutes in the deep end, without hands. About the time I was tired and done the sweet little lifeguard lady decides I should try some floats that you attach to your ankles which make it hard to stabilize your core. So I was obligated to tread water for another 10 minutes to try the new toy. I pretended I was Rocky training for a fight. Finally I called it quits and headed to the hot tub.

After the workout and swim I was kind of starving. Maybe not the best time to go to the grocery store… I think I did ok though. Got a bunch of fruit for smoothies, some salmon for dinner, and a few other healthy things (it’s easy to buy healthy foods when you shop at Whole Foods, and easy to spend a ton). But where I lost control was when getting my lunch from their hot food buffet section. A fried chicken leg happened, and fried sweet potato puffs (like tater tots), and some cheesy pork chili. Oops. ๐Ÿ˜›

I did weigh in today, but it was pretty much the same as last week. That’s disappointing because I thought I had lost some. But then my food choices weren’t the best this weekend… It serves me right. I need to get my act together AGAIN. I have a stair climb coming up, 2 runs, and 2 triathlons. I want to get in shape, and I want to wear my cute red dress on my birthday! Now is the time to stay dedicated and get busy. You can’t procrastinate weight loss when you have specific events coming up.

Leave a Reply

