Big Climb 2012

Ok, a little late, but better than never: Here are the pictures from the Big Climb. We had a fun time. It was a climb of 69 flights in the Columbia Tower. That’s something like 1,311 steps in a small stairwell (no more than two people could comfortably climb side by side). There were tons of people but the event was very well run and we were pretty well spaced out. My major complaint is that I got WAY too hot. We started at 10:45am and it was already stuffy from all the people ahead of us huffing and puffing. I had worn a long sleeve shirt and then put a cotton team shirt on top. The cotton shirt only lasted about 5 minutes. My legs were fine, but it was my lungs that were hurting. The asthma kicked in pretty hard about half way up and I had to stop often to catch my breath. I finished in 30 minutes and 27 seconds. That’s 5-10 minutes slower than I had hoped, but I’m ok with that. It was my first time and I didn’t really know what to expect. I’m definitely interested in doing it again next year.  :O)  The crazy part is that my legs never got sore! I guess it’s true that the going down is what makes your legs hurt the most.

One of the cool things about this event was the team we joined: “The Long and Winding Road.” It was organized by Yvonne, who’s husband Gregg is a cancer survivor (can’t remember which kind). He has had a bone marrow transplant in the past and the donor came all the way from Boston to meet him. How cool is that?!?! We had a great group of really friendly people and then went for lunch at an Irish Pub afterwords. Fun times!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

