Food/Tamales :)

We cooked shish-ka-bobs on the grill this weekend and they turned out perfect! I love grilling! Last week I cooked a healthy shrimp stir-fry. But the most time consuming cooking adventure was the NINE dozen tamales on Friday! I spent about 2 hours Thursday night prepping the sauce to mix with the meat. I cooked some chicken in the crock pot for 10 hours and my friend cooked a beef roast. For the sauce I caramelized some giant Walla Walla onions. Then I cooked up some fresh yellow and red peppers and vine ripened tomatoes and of course fresh garlic. I was VERY generous with the spices (chili powder, garlic, pepper, lots of dried peppers, a little thyme and cinnamon). The sauce was spicier than I intended, but turned out so good! The chicken just about fell apart. I kept the onion and garlic from the crock-pot & blended it to add back to the meat (& saved the broth for a stew later in the week). Sylvia and I spent about 6 hours assembling the tamales and steaming them. I also tweaked my masa mix recipe. No oil this time, just chili & garlic powder, lime juice, and chicken broth (from bullion). These tamales were seriously the best I’ve made yet! More time consuming, but totally worth it. Sylvia took her half to marathon practice on Saturday morning and sold ALL of them as a fundraiser for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. Mine were dinner, an appetizer for a baby shower (disappearing in 5 minutes), and part of a pot-luck on Sunday. The rest are in the freezer for the Burns family reunion next weekend. šŸ™‚

And here’s the Tamale spectacle (plus two pics I can’t seem to separate out of the slideshow)Ā Ā  šŸ™‚

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

