Barefoot in the kitchen

I kicked off my first day as “full time house wife” this morning with a healthy paleo breakfast; fresh red onion, green pepper, mushrooms, and scrambled eggs. I’ve actually been cooking some great meals the last few days. Finding some fun recipes to try and getting back into the excitement of kitchen experiments.Ā  šŸ™‚ Earlier this week I cooked a lamb steak with asparagus, onion, tomatoes, and mushrooms (lots of garlic and seasonings of course). We ate the meat and had some of the veggies leftover to use as part of a breakfast scramble the next day. That’s our new standard breakfast btw: vegetables and eggs, pretty much every morning. No toast, but sometimes we’ll add meat.

The night before last I did a paleo dish that could be VERY loosely compared to beef stroganoff….except totally different. I started with thinly sliced sirloin cooked in coconut oil and garlic, then added fresh kale and a sauce of chicken broth/thyme/dijon mustard. Other than just slightly overcooking the steak, it was super tasty! I decided that I really like kale when it’s cooked just right (soft but not slimy). I steamed some very fresh carrots for one of the side dishes. The other side was a fresh broccoli salad (not paleo because I put a little sugar in the sauce).

Last night’s dinner was even better. It was a little time consuming (mostly because I had to wash all the dished before I could start cooking), but totally worth the work: Giant Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms. I used spicy Italian sausage and ground bison meat, added celery, green pepper, red onion, mushrooms, and some kale (which wasn’t in the recipe). I had to take my food processor out of it’s box on top of the fridge, but had so much fun using it, that I may just have to find a home for it in one of the cupboards. While processing I added an egg, some olive oil, and a very small amount of flour (not paleo, but it’s all I had in the house). Then the meat mixture went onto the prepped portobello caps and baked for 20 minutes. YUM!! Side was broccoli salad again. And I have LOTS of leftovers. šŸ™‚

Today will be mostly leftovers, but I also have a small salmon fillet that I might cook for lunch. Oh, life is so tough for a stay at home wife!Ā Ā  šŸ˜›

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

