On my mind

I’m at an interesting point in my life: pondering what’s next. I’ve had a lot of “endings” lately, which means it’s time for some new beginnings. Reading “Secrets of Six-Figure Women” has given me even more to think about!!  I’ve already been giving a lot of thought to the values that drive me. Now I’m considering different careers that will be profitable while still granting me time to pursue the things that make me happy. I’m thinking about my relationship with money, as well as how to spend my valuable time. I’m considering my true life priorities. Giving thought to my future and what might be important to me later on. I have a “habit” of “living in the now” which has it’s perks (I can honestly say that if I were to die today, I’d be proud of who I am), but it also has draw-backs (like lack of a strong financial foundation as well as being overweight). I need to find a balance between enjoying the present moment and planning for my future. In the next 2 weeks I’ll be spending time looking at my finances (while also working on diet & exercise). Plus I have appointments at two local colleges to consider how further education could open doors.

I have big dreams for my future. The comfort-seeking, fearful inner-voice screams that these dreams are impossible. But I look back on the things I have done, the relationships I have, and the person I’ve become and know that I CAN do anything I set my mind to! If my dream is big, I just need to make a big effort to chase it. It will be uncomfortable at times, but if I don’t even try, I have a 100% chance of failing.

This is still a work in progress, but here’s what I believe to be my top five core values (not necessarily in order):

  • Freedom (specifically financial, but also relates to being my true self)
  • Good health and fitness
  • Happiness
  • Making a difference, having impact
  • Having loving & supportive relationships (both friends and family)

At the center of all these is love. Loving myself and others. I wanted to add learning, but that seems to be a natural part of attaining the other values.

Speaking of values and love, here’s a picture of my good friend Stephanie’s brand new baby girl. It was such a pleasure to meet & hold her and witness how happy her parents are! Life is good!

Baby Charley Mame, born 10/12/12 😉

Leave a Reply

