Broken record

I wanted to title this post “Another great weekend!” But I’ve used that title a lot.  🙂  Still, it was a good one! Yancy’s dad (Gene) came over on Friday and spent the whole weekend with us. On Friday night we had (thanks to Yancy for braving the cold and dark) watched a cool movie. On Saturday morning we went to Alki Beach for some coffee and a little walk on the waterfront. We visited the house & park in West Seattle where Gene had great childhood memories. We went out for lunch at the Belltown Pub (thanks to Mom for the certificate). The food was amazing and the people watching was intense. There was a large group of people in costumes. Apparently it’s some club that does this regularly and this weekend’s theme was 90’s sitcom characters. Pretty funny.

We relaxed at home for a little while and watched another cool movie (called The 13th Floor) and then rushed over to the Phinney Neighborhood Association beer tasting. It was crowded and hot, but FUN. The guys had lots of drinks and I was “DD.” I had a great time visiting with some of our friends. After the beer tasting finished some of us went out for pizza. The food and chilly walk helped sober the guys up.

On Sunday morning we drove down to Olympia to spend the day with more family (Gene’s sister, nephew and his family). We had a great time sitting around talking and eating yummy food… we’re talking homemade cookies, steak, baked potatoes, and shrimp! Tracie took me for a spin in their fancy sports car. Gene took it out for a test drive too. We watched a funny movie and the disappointing second half of the Sounders game. One thing that makes me smile is how comfortable we are with this family, even though we rarely get to visit. There’s a welcoming atmosphere of love that you can feel. I am so blessed to be a part of this family!

On Monday morning Yancy had to go back to work and Gene had an appointment, so it was a pretty quiet day (I got to do housework, yippee). But for dinner we went to visit our cousins in Queen Anne. They served a yummy Chinese salad and of course, there was lots of wine. It was another really enjoyable evening spent with family! Gene has gone home now and the house seems so quiet. I did get a project done today that I’ve been wanting to do for a long time. We upgraded my computer before I could download all the video. But after using a template in iMoive (Macs rock!) it was pretty much cut & paste. Here’s the link: TNT San Diego Triathlon so you can check it out. Not the best quality, and not exactly what I had envisioned, but it was my first project and I’m pretty happy with it.  🙂  And of course, I have a few pictures from this weekend:

Leave a Reply

