Catch up

I’ve got to send a shout out to the world’s coolest grandma! She checks my blog all the time and asks me what’s up if I haven’t been posting. 🙂 All is well with me, but sometimes my life is just too boring to post about. It’s been a mostly quiet week since returning from a fun Thanksgiving trip. Yancy had come down with a cold so we’ve been pretty low key. He seems pretty much back to normal now though and we’re really looking forward to our exercise class this weekend. Not sure if I mentioned in a previous post, but I’m now receiving unemployment. I’m going back to school to train for a new career and hoping that I can stay on unemployment during that time. I’ve got to say though that they make it so hard (even demoralizing) to be on unemployment that I question if it’s even worth my trouble. I’ll give it a few more weeks and then make a decision.

Thanksgiving was really nice. We were sad not to make our annual trip to Pullman (but decided to pass this year so we don’t get exposed to mono by a cousin). Instead we went to my grandparents home in Omak, WA. I could tell Grandma was a little tired (her last chemo treatment had been only 4 days earlier) but she was a wonderful host and put out a great feast. And Grandpa was a good sport with all my terrible jokes about putting his pet bird out of commission. We had a second Thanksgiving meal the very next night at Yancy’s dad’s house. It was really laid back and I had fun talking with some of Gene’s friends.

On Monday I took a beautiful walk around GreenLake with my friend Stephanie and her baby girl (in a stroller this time). Oh man, it was such a beautiful day! On Tuesday evening I made a giant batch of chicken/veggie stew and we had our upstairs neighbors down to share it with us. That night I also made stuffed apples for desert (granny smith apples with pecans, craisins, spices, and agave nectar), YUM! Today I made stuffed chicken with feta cheese, sun-dried tomatoes, fresh basil & garlic and served it with an Italian salad (from a Safeway salad kit). Here’s a few pictures:

Leave a Reply

