Heroes Half Marathon

Other than a large blister on each foot, I’m feeling pretty good after walking a half marathon today. (http://www.heroeshalf.com/) My friend Stephanie and I walked the whole thing. Neither of us trained at all. She had a baby almost 6 months ago and has returned to work full time. I have no such excuse (other than my recent losses). It felt so good to get out and exercise for that long… well, it felt good for the first 8-10 miles. The last two miles were a suffer-fest. We finished in 3 hours and 51 minutes…. I think it’s my longest half marathon yet (can’t remember the time for my first one). This was my 5th half. It’s good motivation to keep on walking and keep on watching my diet.

I’d like to send out a special Thank You to my awesome husband Yancy for playing taxi today and waiting for us to finish our half marathon. You’re the best!

Last week was pretty busy. I spent a lot of time working on a project for school. I’m part of a team of three and we’re working with the college Sustainability Office to do a feasibility study and proposal to build an aquaponics system on campus. There’s going to be A LOT of research for this project, and a lot of coordinating of busy schedules. I’m excited to learn more about aquaponics. It’s complicated and fascinating (basically raising fish and produce together). I’m also taking the opportunity to learn more about gardening and sustainability. I listened to a talk last week about permaculture. Yancy and I also went to a talk about native plant species. We have some ideas of things we can plant around our place. We’ve been talking about planting some vegetables and herbs. We did plant flowers along the entry way to our house. The tulips died, but everything seems pretty happy.

I attended a job fair on Friday and have a few more contacts for possible internships and/or jobs. Hopefully I can find something soon! Tomorrow is the beginning of week 5 out of 11 for Spring quarter. I have to find an internship where I can work 99 hours in order to pass one of my classes… so I’m starting to stress out a little!   😛  Wish me luck!

Here are a few pictures from last week and today:

flowers on our walkway

flowers on our walkway

:)

🙂

Green Lake

Green Lake

a loon?

a loon?

loon from a different angle

loon from a different angle

Green Lake

Green Lake

Green Lake

Green Lake

DUCKIES!!!

DUCKIES!!!

I love how duck sleep on one leg

I love how duck sleep on one leg

turtles on a log!

turtles on a log!

the irises will be blooming soon!

the irises will be blooming soon!

getting ready to walk

getting ready to walk

close up  :P

close up 😛

Heroes Half Marathon

Heroes Half Marathon

Stephanie  :)

Stephanie 🙂

half way point

half way point

just one of the views during the half marathon

just one of the views during the half marathon

allllmost!

allllmost!

any time now!

any time now!

And then there was sun when we were almost done!

And then there was sun when we were almost done!

The best view!

The best view!

Heroes Half Marathon

Heroes Half Marathon

Finisher!

Finisher!

Leave a Reply

