Whole 30 starts tomorrow!!

Here’s a description of what I’ll be doing, starting tomorrow: Whole 30 Program   I’ve been contemplating this for a few weeks since my aunt posted it on FaceBook. I tried the Paleo diet for a while and felt great on it. But as usual, life circumstances happened and I let bad food habits creep back in. In fact, while I was thinking of this program, I was already planning on cheating before I even started! I was thinking of excuses like: “The only way I can eat salad is with dressing on it… so my creamy salad dressing will be one of the things I allow.” And I was thinking I’d keep using regular butter, because “I really only use it on sweet potatoes, and that small amount can’t hurt anything right?” Well, after reading back over the article, especially the “tough love” part towards the bottom, I’ve decided that I better just do it right.

I’ve been really struggling to loose weight. And I’ve had some crazy skin issues lately, breakouts that are really small skin infections instead of normal zits. My digestive system could use some help too, but I’ll not go into that online. 😛  My energy levels are pretty low at times and I know it’s related to diet and quality of sleep. My blood pressure is technically in the normal range, but it’s still higher than my “normal” with the lower number at 80. With a family history of heart disease, I feel that I need to hurry up and get healthy now.

So today I’m publicly committing to do this 30 day challenge of eating whole foods. This means no lattes (which have crept back into my life) and no breads. No alcohol. No dairy products. Not even peanut butter.  😦

I know it’s going to be hard. But I think I can do it. I’ll post on my blog every few days to let you know how it’s going. Feel free to call or text throughout the 30 days to send encouragement!  🙂

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Nita
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 19:34:55

    I know what you mean, I was thinking I could fudge a bit, but NO, we have to do the mental workout that goes along with the reprogramming and reset. I have been in a rut for so long and my health is diminishing along with my finances. I plan on having a spinach egg scramble and maybe a grapefruit or orange. It’s more fun knowing you are doing this too. Sending positive thoughts your way!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

