Catch up

I got really busy and distracted, so the blog got dropped. I’m still here! The Whole 30 program was going really well for a while, but I kinda dropped the ball with that too. I didn’t go on some crazy eating/drinking binge, but some processed foods definitely made their way into my diet. Traveling makes it hard to eat healthy. Especially because old habits die hard. In the past Yancy and I used travel as an excuse to eat whatever we want. The “obligatory purchase” at gas stations where we used the bathrooms was almost always junk food… which is pretty much all those kinds of stores carry. We made a spontaneous trip to visit family this weekend and struggled with those old habits.

BUT, today is a new day! I’ve decided to start the 30 day program over again. The only problem is that I am already doubting my resolve. We have family visiting next weekend, and the following weekend I’ll be traveling again. But I’m just going to give it my best shot. I actually lost 6 pounds already and feel much better. A six pound loss is two weeks is really good! There are times when the food decisions are really hard, but overall, I feel pretty confident with this kind of eating. Plus I see some of these changes as long-term. One of the things that surprised me is how much I don’t miss bread! And my hunger/cravings have really lessened. Most days I don’t feel hungry again within a couple hours of eating like I used to.

Enough talk about dieting…. I also have other exciting things going on. As I mentioned earlier, we made a trip to visit our parents this weekend. It was a total surprise to my mom. She’s having a tough time lately missing her mom and worrying about her dad. I can’t really do much for her, but hopefully just being there helps. Healing takes time. It was great to visit with Yancy’s dad too. The weather has been unnaturally hot in Washington state. The Okanogan county hit mid 90’s last week! Luckily it had cooled off a bit during our trip, but it still felt like a nice summer visit for me (minus the mosquitoes).Ā  šŸ™‚ The rivers are all flooded and the pond by the farm was overrun with frogs. I’ve never heard them so loudly before!!!! I loved it! On the way home we drove through one of the craziest storms I’ve seen… complete with lightning and rain so heavy that it nearly stopped traffic. People were literally lined up on the side of the road trying to wait it out. Visibility was awful and wind gusts pretty much blinded you. Yancy’s a great driver though, and I felt safe with him.

I’m trying to figure some things out about my near future. I’d to take 2 more classes at the college during summer quarter. Both will help with my career goal of working as a project manager in the non-profit field. The main concern is funding. And since I am on unemployment, I am not sure how all the legalities will work out. I have started an internship with a neat organization called Skate Like a Girl. They are completely volunteer-led now and growing. I’ll be helping with documentation, writing manuals, preparing for paid staff, and increasing revenue. It should be some hard work, but fun and rewarding. Who knows, maybe I’ll even learn how to skateboard. šŸ˜›

I have a ton of pictures to upload, but going to keep it short today because I really need to get back to my homework.

Our Seattle Works volunteer team that worked at the food bank Saturday morning.

Our Seattle Works volunteer team that worked at the food bank Saturday morning.

We had dinner in Pateros, this was the view from my seat (Rivers Restaurant).

We had dinner in Pateros, this was the view from my seat (Rivers Restaurant).

Mom loved her lilies. Happy Mother's Day!

Mom loved her lilies. Happy Mother’s Day!

We visited the damn on Sunday afternoon (can't remember the name, just out of Oroville).

We visited the damn on Sunday afternoon (can’t remember the name, just out of Oroville).

I love water!!!

I love water!!!

Yancy's dad & uncle

Yancy’s dad & uncle

Healthy dinner of elk steak, salad, and peppers with hummus.

Healthy dinner of elk steak, salad, and peppers with hummus.

Leave a Reply

